38th Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium

Filed under the keywords

The AIAA Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium is a unique venue for technical interchange with members of the regional aerospace community. The event is organized and sponsored by the Executive Council of the AIAA Dayton-Cincinnati Section, and co-sponsored by several local organizations. These organizations include the the University of Dayton and Wright State University Student Chapters of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the Dayton Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the Ohio Valley Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, the Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) Wright-Kettering Chapter, the Midwest Section of the Society for the Advancement of Material and Processing Engineering (SAMPE), the Southern Ohio Chapter of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES), the Greater Ohio Chapter of the Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST), and the AIAA Student Sections of the Ohio Northern University, University of Kentucky, Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), University of Dayton, University of Cincinnati, and Wright State University, as well as the Illinois Section of the AIAA.

In addition to our co-sponsors, the symposium relies on corporate sponsors for financial support that helps keep registration costs low and recognize the award winners. The section currently offers three levels of participation, platinum ($1000), gold ($500), and silver ($250).

A group of volunteers help to organize the symposium. This organizing committee must address a number of functional areas, and the team is divided into a number of committees that reflect these areas. Each committee is led by a dedicated chairperson, and a general chair and deputy orchestrate the entire planning process. Everyone involved plays a crucial role and contributes to the success of the symposium. We hope that you will join us in thanking them for their participation, hard work, and dedication. We also hope that you will consider helping in the planning of this and future symposia by volunteering to work on the organizing committee or to serve as a session chair.

The symposium showcases cutting-edge aerospace research in the region with a one-day program that includes technical presentations solicited in all general areas of aerospace science and technology. This includes, but is not limited to, fluid dynamics, propulsion, materials, structures, controls, avionics, sensors, human factors, combustion, fuels, turbomachinery, and power. The presentations are distributed into parallel sessions in the morning, early afternoon, and late afternoon. Each presentation is limited to 20 minutes, including questions. No written paper is required, and works in development for other technical forums are welcome. A invited speaker gives a keynote presentation before lunch.

Best Presentation awards will be given for each technology area. The winners will be recognized at the Dayton-Cincinnati Section Awards Banquet held annually at the end of May. Winners of the Art-In-Science Competition will also be recognized at the Awards Banquet.

Rich Snyder and Rich Anthony
Executive Co-Chairs
38th Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium