Historic

warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/aiaadayc/public_html/daycin_old/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
This content is associated with historical events in aviation and space flight.

DCASS archive

Filed under the keywords
2012 DCASS
37th Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium
2011 DCASS
36th Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium
2010 DCASS
35th Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium

Armstrong sets foot on the moon

Filed under the keywords

At 02:39 UTC on Monday July 21 (10:39pm EDT, Sunday July 20), 1969, Armstrong opened the hatch, and at 02:51 UTC began his descent to the Moon's surface. The Remote Control Unit controls on his chest kept him from seeing his feet. Climbing down the nine-rung ladder, Armstrong pulled a D-ring to deploy the Modular Equipment Stowage Assembly (MESA) folded against Eagle's side and activate the TV camera, and at 02:56 UTC (10:56pm EDT) he set his left foot on the surface.

X-1E launch from B-50 mothership

Filed under the keywords

This 33 second movie clip shows X-1 being dropped from the B-50 mothership from 35,000 feet.

Syndicate content